HSBC 7s Series: We are world champions

FIJI is the 2019 World Sevens Series champion after beating USA 33-14 in the first semi final of the HSBC Paris 7s

It is coach Gareth Baber’s first world title since taking over as national sevens coach in 2017.

Fiji last won the title in 2016 under coach Ben Ryan.

With Napolioni Bolaca on a two match suspension and Waisea Nacuqu and Apenisa Cakaubalavu injured, Fiji played the semifinal with only 10 men.

Fiji’s tries came from Meli Derenalagi, Jerry Tuwai, Sevuloni Mocenacagi, Vilimoni Botitu, Isoa Tabu.

Fiji was leading the series with two points ahead of USA.

It only needed to win the semi final to win the series.

With 162 points, USA needed to win the tournament to win the title.

Or it needed Fiji to come fourth in the tournament.

Fiji will play New Zealand at 4.33am.


More Stories